Tags

, , , ,

Oh it’s another beautiful Monday and guess who’s not at work? Of course, I’m not jumping up and down because right now I’m checking and double checking that I have the right course codes for the classes I want to do this semester and praying frantically that I get into the classes I want to get into. Oh the never ending cycle that is stress. Anyway, today’s review is of Misfit by Jon Skovron. Sit back and enjoy.


MisfitJael Thompson has never really fit in. She’s changed schools too many times to count. The only family she’s ever known is her father, a bitter ex-priest who never lets her date and insists she attend the strictest Catholic school in Seattle. And her mother—well, she was a five thousand year old demon. That doesn’t exactly help.

But on her sixteenth birthday, her father gives her a present that brings about some unexpected changes. Some of the changes, like strange and wonderful powers and the cute skater boy with a knack for science, are awesome. But others, like the homicidal demon seeking revenge on her family? Not so much.


General Comments

Has a book ever left you feeling conflicted? Because that’s exactly how I feel right now. Misfit had so much promise but there were so many ups and downs that at times I just couldn’t focus and had to put down the book. The author also chose to skim over a difficult topic and they way it was done just left a bad taste in my mouth.

Critical Review

Author’s Voice/ POV:

Jon Skovron chose to use the first person POV with present tense. You probably know by now I have a thing against this and unfortunately he didn’t quite pull it off with me. I couldn’t connect with the character and hence I found myself not paying as close attention as I’d like. There were a few flashback scenes written in the third person POV and past tense and these were handled beautifully. At times I found myself wishing there weren’t so few included.

Characters:

Jael seems like the kind of girl I’d like to get to know. The author gives a very full picture of what she’s like but because I couldn’t connect with her, it seemed flimsy almost. However, I found myself wishing I could get to know her, at the heart. I wanted to see her expanded upon, fleshed out. She has tremendous potential as a character.

To be honest I wasn’t extremely impressed by the cast of characters. Jael’s father seems too flat and his entire relationship with Jael with the distance he keeps in the beginning seems so contrived. Rob was lovely and refreshing but I wish there had been more character development where he was concerned. As lovely as his open-minded, zen attitude is, I wanted to get beneath the surface and not just float on top. Dagon, Jael’s uncle, somehow really appealed to me. He seemed very fresh, very honest and with him I got a sense of what I was seeing was all there was.

Storyline/ Plot:

A half-demon in a Catholic school? Who wouldn’t want to read that? I thought the story proposed had some great potential but in telling it seems to lose some of its appeal.  At one point, the author really uses the setting of the Catholic school and it upset me. I have no problem with anyone’s beliefs. But somehow as he had a character explain how one of the priests (who went a little cuckoo) got to be a teacher, I felt like he took a stab at the entire religion that could cut deeper than any of the scandals we hear about. Somehow it felt wrong. And I couldn’t look at the book for a while.

Cover & Blurb:

This was a nice simple cover and I really liked it. It’s different from the popular covers of today and it really struck me as a book I’d like to have on my shelf. As I said the blurb would make me read this as well as the description.

Rating Conclusion

In the end, I’d give Misfit 2.5 stars out of five. Despite the issues I had, this book really made the reader think and that’s something I think we should have more of.


Happy Monday,

K, the Popinjay.

Disclaimer: This story was received from the publisher, ABRAMS, via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

