Tags

, , , ,

Every Other Day

Every Other Day
Jennifer Lynn Barnes
Young Adult – Paranormal
Egmont USA
December 27th, 2011
E-galley

 

Every other day, Kali D’Angelo is a normal sixteen-year-old girl. She goes to public high school. She attends pep rallies. She’s human.

And then every day in between . . .She’s something else entirely.

Though she still looks like herself, every twenty-four hours predatory instincts take over and Kali becomes a feared demon-hunter with the undeniable urge to hunt, trap, and kill zombies, hellhounds, and other supernatural creatures. Kali has no idea why she is the way she is, but she gives in to instinct anyway. Even though the government considers it environmental terrorism.

When Kali notices a mark on the lower back of a popular girl at school, she knows instantly that the girl is marked for death by one of these creatures. Kali has twenty-four hours to save her and, unfortunately, she’ll have to do it as a human. With the help of a few new friends, Kali takes a risk that her human body might not survive… and learns the secrets of her mysterious condition in the process.

General Comments

I knew that I’d like Every Other Day from its very interesting beginning and I was not disappointed. As I read more and more, I became acquainted with intriguing characters and engrossed in an exciting story. With each chapter, the book got better and better with some of the most thrilling action scenes I’ve read in a while.

Critical Review

The book was written in the first person POV, which was perfect as I felt like I was right in the middle of the protagonist’s thoughts at all times. Its flow was excellent; I never felt like there were any anticlimactic lulls in the story, instead it kept going and going.

Kali, the protagonist, came across as one of those bad-ass kind of girls, who has strength in her ability to fight back. While it’s always refreshing to see a girl who can through her own punches, I didn’t consistently like this persona for her. For me, it seems like it’s a tactic many authors use to differentiate their female protagonists and for many, it comes across as forced. That being said I still pretty much loved Kali. If there’s one thing I could say about her, she’s extremely real and I respect that.

Meanwhile, the other characters, many weren’t extremely well-developed, Rather, they were thrown in to be useful in certain scenes and for a few mentions but not for much else. While there are some exceptions, I felt like I would’ve liked to see more the characters put to better use.

With regards to the story, Kali is a girl with a unique problem: she’s only normal half of the time. That’s right, one day Kali’s just a regular teenager, but the next day she’s an invincible hunter of the supernatural. If that’s not enough to make you read the book I don’t know what is, because that alone pretty much sealed the deal for me.

My biggest disappointment was the attraction between Kali and Zev. Quite honestly, I expected it but never really felt it coming through the story. It lacked development, in my opinion, hence by the end of the book I felt somewhat unconvinced by it all. Further, the explanation behind what Zev and Kali were and what brought them together and kindled that attraction felt a little weak to me. It just wasn’t enough for my liking.

Rating Conclusion

Despite some disappointing characters and the lack of development of attraction between two of the main characters, Every Other Day was still an incredibly enjoyable book. That being said, I fully believe it earned itself 4 out of 5 stars.

Happy reading!

Kris.

Disclaimer: This e-galley was received from the publisher, Egmont USA, via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

P.S:

