Tags

So it’s Friday and like promised I’m not gonna give you guys a boring old summary. Instead, let’s talk Twitter. Yup, that’s right, the Popinjay wants to talk tweets. I am completely guilty of having a Twitter account. But in my defense I only got one because Lisa said it was a good way to connect with other people (writers, bloggers etc). Before that, all I thought was that Twitter was a completely useless creation because honestly, who wanted to just update a series of status reports? Why would anyone want to do that when there was Facebook, where you could get pictures and music and the whole shebang?

So I’m slightly embarrassed to report that in a little over a month, I have become addicted to twitter and its series of status updates. I’ve come to see that twitter is something more. Firstly without the pictures and the videos and the apps like Facebook, it’s a million times easier to stay on track. It’s also way easier to connect with interesting people and see what they have to say and get a very personal feel for them without it getting too personal (pics of your family vacation will make me feel like a Creeper).

Never in my wildest dreams would I have imagined that I would be privy to some of my favourite author’s daily activities or their thoughts but with Twitter I am. I never thought I’d really reach out to people and let them know I was so interested in what they had to say. I never thought anyone would find me interesting enough to follow. Twitter is an eye opener in many ways at least for me and I’ve come to love the community I’ve found there.

As much as I love Twitter and all it has to author, it has its faults and these are all caused by some of its members. One of my biggest pet peeves is the auto-follow. Uhm, just because you follow me does not mean I will follow you back. It’s not that I have anything against you but if I’m not going to be interested in your tweets then why should I follow you? Honestly. I am not going to clog my feed with stuff I’m not interested in. That’s just me. Sorry if I’ve offended you (not really).

So, what I do love is when someone follows me. It always warms my heart and makes me smile. I get exceptionally happy when I realise someone’s been sticking around on my follow list. It gives me warm fuzzies to think that they are genuinely interested in what I have to say. That’s a powerful feeling and I believe that’s why Twitter’s so popular. It makes you feel Special and Noticed. I really love the idea of an audience especially since I’m an aspiring author and twitter gives me that while lettering me to be me in one hundred and forty words or less rather than forty thousand and over.

All in all. I like Twitter. I’ll ignore the auto-follow craze because no where’s perfect. Instead I’ll swim in all the good of it and revel in my small but greatly appreciated audience. I’ll continue to enjoy my feed content as I get great pieces of advice for writers and I’m entertained by some hilarious tweets. For all those who haven’t lost themselves to Twitter: good idea but you don’t know what you’re missing.

Until next time,

K, the Popinjay.

