Tags

, ,

So o Wednesday I told you guys I’d have our regular Wednesday post today, complete with a thousand words and a lovely writing exercise. But, it seems like I lied. Oh well. So today let’s talk about writing communities.

As you all know, I’m part of a community called Inkpop started by HarperCollins. I first joined Inkpop a couple months after it had been started but I soon left as I was unable to keep up with my hectic schedule (Oh wow…school.. I so could not handle you). I rejoined recently because it was aother step in getting back into writing. I uploaded an old story and then one day at work I wrote somethig that was part of my work-in-progress but could stand alone. So I put it up seeking constructive criticism.

What happened was that with the newly updated Inkpop was that people commented on my stories and then showed me how much they liked them by Picking them. It made me feel good about myself and my writing. It gave me a sense of belonging. It gave me hope.

What I’m getting at here that as writers we don’t have to be alone. It’s not always the most rewarding action but a community helps us realise we’re not alone. Others get frustrated, others hate their writing, others want some constructive criticism. They may not be for everyone but they teach us something.

That’s all I wanted to say. Because I was feeling strongly about my writing community and about my writing. Have a lovely day everyone.

It’s Friday!

K, the Popinjay.

