Tags

, , ,

Hi, hi, hi! It’s Mondaaaaaay! You know what that means! Yup! Another Morning Muse. In today’s post I’ll be reviewing The Sweetest Thing by Christina Mandelski. As you all know, I’ve been ‘broadening my horizons’ (compliments the book) and this is a cute little contemporary so I thought I’d give it a read, so here goes.


The Sweetest ThingIn the world of Sheridan Wells, life is perfect when she’s decorating a cake. Unfortunately everything else is a complete mess: her mom ran off years ago, her dad is more interested in his restaurant, and the idea of a boyfriend is laughable.

But Sheridan is convinced finding her mom will solve all her problems – only her dad’s about to get a cooking show in New York, which means her dream of a perfect family will be dashed.

General Review

This was a cute book. I really loved how passionate Sheridan was about her cakes. I wasn’t too amused by how naive she seemed or how dramatic she was but I accepted it because I think I was that dramatic when I was that age. As I got further and further along, the story pulled on my heart strings. I don’t know if it’s because I’ve been emotional recently but I thought it was so cute. Sheridan woke up a bit and I felt (dare I say it?!)  a little proud. So cute.

Critical Review

Author’s Voice/ POV:

The author uses first person and she writes well. I can easily believe that these words are written by teenaged girl who’s more than a little naive and dramatic. It flowed quite nicely, the pace was very upbeat. Overall, I’d say this was a well-written book.

Characters:

Sheridan Wells is our protagonist. My first impression: a naive, idealistic, overly dramatic fifteen year old girl. Just about every other character in the book is used at one point or the other, to re-enforce this opinion of her. While it seems like a good idea, it just bugged me a bit in the beginning. I didn’t think someone could have people tell her she’s this particular way for so long and not do anything about it.

Ethan Murphy plays the beautiful love interest. The popular boy who’s actually kind of nice with a popular and not-so-nice girlfriend. When I was first introduced to him, I have to say, I was not impressed. He even got an eye roll. Yes, characters like him are a common feature in books but he just seemed so cookie cutter, as though no one took any extra time to make him less two-dimensional.

Haley Haversham also got an eye roll. Girlfriend to the super hot guy and well as the protagonist’s sworn enemy? Have I seen this before? Once again, I didn’t get the feeling that much effort had gone into this character.

Storyline/ Plot:

This was an overall interesting story about a girl who’s father had an opportunity for advancement but it involved moving which was something the girl did not want to do. The author threw in other concepts such as an estranged mother and the protagonist’s drawn out attempts to find her. The cooking and baking aspects of this story somehow made it much, much more.

Blurb & Cover:

This was probably one of prettiest, simple covers I’ve seen in a long time.  really liked the white background and then the multi-coloured sprinkles? The bursts of colours really made me happy. The blurb is also very interesting. I want to learn more about this girl who makes cakes but has a depressing home life.

Highlight of the Novel

The real highlight here was the protagonist’s love of baking. Honestly, when I first opened the book and realised that, it piqued my interest. I really wanted to know more about this girl, who loved cakes, and how it would really be incorporated into the story. I can honestly say that the way cakes were incorporated into the different aspects of Sheridan’s life was pure genius.

Rating Conclusion

I’m giving this book a solid 3 out of 5. This is mainly because of the cakes. I really loved that unique aspect of the book. The flow was also good and it was reasonably well-written. The weakness of some of the characters just got to me too much though. I wasn’t fully able to enjoy the book because of that.


So, I believe I deserve props for not reviewing a paranormal romance this week. This contemporary was pretty cutesy though and I thought it was a lovely way to get an idea of what contemporaries are like. As I was reading it, I took a vow swearing that I’d read more. I don’t really read enough nowadays and that upsets me. In any case, I must bid you adieu.

Have a lovely day!

K, the Popinjay.

