Tags

, ,

So it’s Wednesday and not Tuesday. Ah well, better late then never I always say. Crop Over was FANTASTIC. I’m tired and sore and extremely happy, wouldn’t change a bit of it for the world. Today, I’m reviewing Graveminder by Melissa Marr. I’m quite glad you’ve all decided to tune in and read what I’ve had to say about the story.


GraveminderThree sips to mind the dead . . .

Rebekkah Barrow never forgot the attention her grandmother Maylene bestowed upon the dead of Claysville, the small town where Bek spent her adolescence. There wasn’t a funeral that Maylene didn’t attend, and at each one Rebekkah watched as Maylene performed the same unusual ritual: She took three sips from a silver flask and spoke the words "Sleep well, and stay where I put you."

Now Maylene is dead, and Bek must go back to the place she left a decade earlier. She soon discovers that Claysville is not just the sleepy town she remembers, and that Maylene had good reason for her odd traditions. It turns out that in Claysville the worlds of the living and the dead are dangerously connected; beneath the town lies a shadowy, lawless land ruled by the enigmatic Charles, aka Mr. D. If the dead are not properly cared for, they will come back to satiate themselves with food, drink, and stories from the land of the living. Only the Graveminder, by tradition a Barrow woman, and her Undertaker—in this case Byron Montgomery, with whom Bek shares a complicated past—can set things right once the dead begin to walk.

Although she is still grieving for Maylene, Rebekkah will soon find that she has more than a funeral to attend to in Claysville, and that what awaits her may be far worse: dark secrets, a centuries-old bargain, a romance that still haunts her, and a frightening new responsibility—to stop a monster and put the dead to rest where they belong.

General Comments

Do you know that feeling when you’ve just read a book and you close it and put it down and then you just aren’t sure what you think? I kind of have that feeling right about now. I didn’t dislike this book. In fact, when I started I was quite happy to read it. I thought Melissa Marr had a very interesting concept and some compelling characters. Then I had to stop reading for a bit and when I came back the story seemed to just drag on for way too long. By the end of the book, I still felt like I was waiting for something to happen. The only problem was there was nothing more to read. My other issue was the lack of unanswered questions. I felt like there was such a possibility but nothing happened and I stopped expecting any answers to the questions I had.

Critical Review

Author’s POV/ Voice:

In Graveminder, Melissa Marr chose to use the third person POV. Now, I’ve probably said this several times but I quite like the first person POV. Mainly because it’s the easier POV to use to get readers acquainted with the characters. With some third person POVs, I get the feeling that I’m being kept at arm’s length from both the story and the characters in it. This happened to me as I read Graveminder and I didn’t like it because it made it so hard to feel engaged in the story.

Characters:

Rebekah Barrow was an okay character at best. Honestly, her difficulty with accepting her relationship with Byron irked the living daylights out of me. Honestly. All I could think was: “Woman! Get a hold of yourself! Please!” At least by the end there was some sort of progress but just not enough. She was definitely not a character I would ever list as a favourite.

Byron Montgomery was a more satisfying character. He was a little more fleshed out, more realistic. I could accept the motives and the reasoning behind his actions. He was just more human. By the end of the book I found myself wondering whether the change that he underwent was actually believable and I decided it was. He went through quite a bit and came out on the better end of it.

Storyline/ Plot:

Overall, I’d give it an A+. This was a fun new concept and it jus felt so fresh. So what if the romance bit felt a bit old and played out? Everything else was great until it got so slow. To be completely honest, I feel like this story could’ve been done a little differently but it was written the way it was written and I can appreciate that.

Cover & Blurb:

Beautiful cover! It was simple and exquisite. I truly loved it. The blurb was a little long but it was still quite good. I’ve been hearing about this book for awhile and quite frankly reading the blurb wouldn’t have altered my mind in any way.

Rating Conclusion

Graveminder has earned 3 out of 5 stars in my opinion. I had so many expectations for the book and by the end, most of them had been dashed. The storyline was superb, however, and I did enjoy it somewhat. Especially the beginning. The beginning was great.


Another week, another review. I love reading books, don’t you? I really love reviews too. Reviewing seems to have made me a better reader. I feel like I notice more and that I’ve gained a better appreciation for writing on a whole. Anyway, I hope you’ve enjoyed today’s review. Enjoy your Wednesday everyone!

Toodles,

K, the Popinjay.

