Tags

, , , , ,

It’s Tuesday! And I actually have my post up when I said I’d have it up! Yay! So without further ado, I give you my review of Divergent by Veronica Roth. Do enjoy.


DivergentBeatrice “Tris” Prior has reached the fateful age of sixteen, the stage at which teenagers in Veronica Roth’s dystopian Chicago must select which of five factions to join for life. Each faction represents a virtue: Candor, Abnegation, Dauntless, Amity, and Erudite. To the surprise of herself and her selfless Abnegation family, she chooses Dauntless, the path of courage. Her choice exposes her to the demanding, violent initiation rites of this group, but it also threatens to expose a personal secret that could place in mortal danger.


General Comments

Divergent was a book I’d wanted to read for a long time before I actually read it. However, once I actually got my hands on it, it proved a tad hard for me to get into the story but as I continued reading  the flow picked up quickly, carrying me alone like a leaf caught in the rapids of a river. When I was finally deposited at the end, I was slightly unsure of what my feelings were. I was glad the main characters were alive, glad about the resolution, but a little scared at what lay ahead of our protagonists. I wasn’t sure if I thought it was a good book or if it was a great book. The one thing I was certain of was that I would definitely be hunting down the second book once it became available and I guess that speaks loads.

Critical Review

Author’s Voice/ POV:

Veronica Roth chose to use the first person POV, however, she also used the present tense to help her narrate the story. I’m not too big a fan of stories which are written in such a tense. I always get the idea that the author is trying to make the reader feel they’re experiencing everything alongside the characters, so that we might feel more intuned with the characters’ feelings or what not. However, maybe because I’m so used to past tense, I always notice and it’s hard for me to look past it and get into the actual story.

Characters:

Tris is an excellent example of the metamorphosis/ evolution of a character. As the pages turn, shy, unsure, and uncomfortable Beatrice disappears to be replaced by a girl who’s strong, smart, and determined. She gains friends that she could never have imagined, experiences cruelties that she doesn’t fully understand, and in the end finds a love that makes her happy.

Four is a bit of an enigma. He was the perfect stand-offish teacher, fair and impartial, even when he’s showing a bit too much interest in Beatrice. We can explain those things away easily do. At least until the author begins to expose snatches of his feelings, and we watch, captivated, as an unlikely but endearing romance blooms. By the end of the story, I had fallen for him just as hard as Tris.

Storyline/ Plot:

The idea that society’s members could agree to sort themselves into groups based on some commonly held ideal seems a tad far-fetched, doesn’t it? That is until you realise that religions are basically groups of people who share beliefs, and neighbourhoods hold people who share a similar income. Really and truly, Veronica Roth has taken the bones of an old idea and put a twist on it that resulted in a beautiful book. I liked how she explained the factions and everyone’s role in society based on them and then carefully revealed each flaw in the idea until we’ve fallen straight into an emotionally-charged and action-packed climax.

Cover & Blurb:

This cover was quite pretty and piqued my curiosity about the story. I loved the fact that it wasn’t the least bit complicated and that it wasn’t just another cover with some rendition of one of the protagonist on it. The blurb felt too long but it was extremely informative and I felt like it gave me a good idea about what the story was about with little room for confusion.

Rating Conclusion

Overall, I’d give Divergent a four out of five stars. While it flows well, somehow I didn’t feel like I was able to stay deeply submerged in the story being told. However, it is a good book and I would highly recommend it to others as I already have.


Have a great day!

K, the Popinjay.

