Tags

, ,

Another week, another Monday. But wait, this Monday is different, but how? Oh I know! This is the Monday of my last week at work! Ahhhhh! Oh the last weeks of my summer vacation are near and they smell sweet. So it is with great pleasure that I bring you today’s review of Entangled by Cat Clarke.


EntangledThe same questions whirl round and round in my head:
What does he want from me?
How could I have let this happen?
AM I GOING TO DIE?

17-year-old Grace wakes up in a white room, with a table, pens and paper – and no clue how she got here.
As Grace pours her tangled life onto the page, she is forced to remember everything she’s tried to forget. There’s falling hopelessly in love with the gorgeous Nat, and the unravelling of her relationship with her best friend Sal. But there’s something missing. As hard as she’s trying to remember, is there something she just can’t see?

Grace must face the most important question of all. Why is she here?

General Comments

Wow. That’s what I thought when I closed the book. Just wow. The first half of the book or so was a little confusing. As Grace writes down her story she jumps around a bit, between the past and the present and at times it’s extremely confusing. But as I read further on and stopped trying to figure out where she was from, the story got steadily better. There were a few points where I wanted to just shake her but overall I quite liked it.

Critical Review

Author’s POV/ Voice:

The author chose to use the first person POV and in all honesty, I found it hard to sink into at the beginning. This was mostly because I couldn’t figure out where the protagonist was from purely from her dialogue. It felt slightly inconsistent to me as though Grace’s persona was a suit the author was trying on for the first time, and she wasn’t quite sure how it fit. However, after a little while it got smoother and I was able to let myself go and enjoy the story.

Characters:

Grace is not perfect. Actually, she’s quite far from it. She’s one of those girls. You know the kind I mean, the kind that you raise your eyebrows at and judge not so secretly. The kind who drinks too much, is much too loose with herself, and who has no filter between her brain and her mouth. But she was real. I found myself being able to understand how she got that way and my heart went out to her. At some points I wanted to shake her. Honestly, she was more than a little naive and I felt like it was a less than realistic device employed by the author to make her story work. But overall, I could relate to Grace.

Storyline/ Plot:

The story was extremely interesting. I found myself asking questions at every turn. Why did he kidnap her? Why is he so odd? What happened to Sal? Why can’t Grace see what’s so clear to me? I felt like the particular issue that Grace had was interestingly handled. I could actually believe she couldn’t stop, that somehow she didn’t really know why she did it, and I was satisfied with that. I must say, the ending came as a bit of a surprise. I realised that as teh story wound down that something weird was going on and I was waiting for it to take an unexpected twist possibly into the paranormal. But it didn’t. And once I reached those last words, my heart went out to Grace, and to Sal, and to Grace’s mother. And I hoped.

Cover & Blurb:

This was a stunning cover. The picture alone made me want to pick it up. Forget the blurb. Honestly, that’s how I felt. This cover just overshadowed everything. This girl just drew me in with her messy nails, her red hair, and the look in her eye. Pleading, sad, and beautiful. It just worked.

Rating Conclusion

Entangled gets 4.25 stars out of 5. Honestly, it was a good read even if it did take a while to pick up. I loved the way the characters interacted and I loved how raw they could get. It was refreshing to see the less than pleasant side of the teenage life. Not everyone’s biggest problems come from them having some great talent. The beauty in this novel could be found in the very human flaws it sought to portray, and I loved it.


Have a great week everyone, I will.

K, the Popinjay.

