Tags

, , , , ,

So as you guys know, I’ve got a week left because school starts *cue crying*. Basically I’ve been trying to use this time to sort out tons of loose ends, unfortunately not everything goes according to plan. However, I have managed to read more books than usual in a last bid attempt to catch up with my Goodreads reading challenge. On Thursday, while searching my kindle for something interesting to read, I happened upon Across the Universe by Beth Revis. If you want to know how I felt about it, keep reading.


Across the UniverseSeventeen-year-old Amy joins her parents as frozen cargo aboard the vast spaceship Godspeed and expects to awaken on a new planet, three hundred years in the future. Never could she have known that her frozen slumber would come to an end fifty years too soon and that she would be thrust into the brave new world of a spaceship that lives by its own rules.

Amy quickly realizes that her awakening was no mere computer malfunction. Someone – one of the few thousand inhabitants of the spaceship – tried to kill her. And if Amy doesn’t do something soon, her parents will be next.

Now, Amy must race to unlock Godspeed’s hidden secrets. But out of her list of murder suspects, there’s only one who matters: Elder, the future leader of the ship and the love she could never have seen coming.

 

General Comments

The only word that adequately describes reading Across the Universe is beautiful. Seriously. As I read the book, all I could think was that it was all so beautiful, the story, the writing, everything. I don’t know what it was in particular that made me love the story so much but I did. I am immensely pleased with my decision.

Critical Review

Author’s POV/ Voice:

Beth Revis chose to use the first person POV to tell her story from two viewpoints: those of Elder and Amy. She also chose to use present tense which I did not find the least bit distracting. I thought she handled her writing extremely well and I could detect the differences in voices as she switched between Elder and Amy. She truly did an excellent job.

Characters:

Elder was amazing! I loved the transformation we saw as he went from an immature teenaged boy and grew into a mature and thoughtful man. I never felt at any point of the story that any aspect of him had been contrived or forced. He just worked for me.

Amy was an interesting character. At times I felt like she wasn’t consistent. This wasn’t a huge glaring flaw, it was something I noticed whenever she said ‘Daddy’. For some reason it irked the hell out of me. She seemed too strong to be reverting to something like that.

Eldest was one of the best surprises. I loved his transformation over the story, changing along with Elder but in a completely different way. He was beautifully handled and Beth Revis peeled back layer after layer to reveal his true nature in a very timely fashion never rushing nor lagging.

Storyline/ Plot:

I thought this story was a clever spin on similar stories I’ve seen. To think off the top of my head it reminds me slightly of the movie Pandorum but there’s a different focus, its tilted more on the emotional development of the characters involved. I have to admit, I suspected who was killing the frozen settlers from very early on in the story but somehow this didn’t matter. I was involved in how everything would be handled, how the characters would deal with each new problem as it came their way. I wasn’t entirely pleased at one point when Amy is ‘not acting herself’. Somehow it rang too much as being convenient.

Cover & Blurb (Description):

I quite liked this cover. It wasn’t a great work of art but it wasn’t anything similar to the covers I’m used to seeing. The description of this story did the job of making me extremely eager to read it. Overall, a good attempt.

Rating Conclusion

Ultimately, Across the Universe gets 4.5 out of 5 stars. It was a truly beautiful read and I’d re-read it and recommend it to anyone.

What books have touched you?

K, the Popinjay.

