Tags

TGIFatGReadsGraphicThis is a weekly feature hosted by Ginger from GReads and it’s called TGIF @ GReads! Basically, Ginger uses it to do a short recap on that week’s posts as well as to pose a question to her followers. I’ll be answering that question here as well as doing my own recap of the week’s posts.

This Friday’s Question

Making a Difference: Which book(s) would you put in the hands of today’s teenagers in hopes of making a difference in their lives?

For some reason this question isn’t as hard for me to answer as I thought it would be. So here goes:

All American GirlAll-American Girl by Meg Cabot makes the top of my list because it examines teen sex in a way that doesn’t feel like anyone’s judging you, preaching at you, or just plain telling you “No”. Meg Cabot managed to show both sides of the coin: a girl who decided to go ahead it and a girl who didn’t; in a readily believable manner and I felt this book helped me in that it was a voice I could relate to when I was younger.

 

 

The Basket of FlowersThe Basket of Flowers was one of the first books that made me cry. To tell you the truth, I read it so long ago that much of the story has faded from my memory, but the impression it made hasn’t. I would recommend this for teens because it’s a book that forces us to think about everything. About the injustices of the world, about our morals, our principles, about the choices we make. As a eleven or twelve-year old, I realised that this heart-wrenching story was also teaching us that life isn’t always fair and that happy endings don’t always appear.

Alana The First AdventureThe Song of the Lioness series is a beautiful set of books highlighting a struggle to attain your dreams, strength as a woman, and integrity. Everytime I’ve read the books, I’m reminded that although I don’t intend to become a lady knight protecting the realm from evil, I can achieve the things I set my sights on. I’m reminded that the road will be far from easy but that the rewards will make up for any and everything that I may go through on the way.

 

 

What would you recommend?

K, the Popinjay.


This week at Words That Fly (and Baffled Books):

