Tags

, , , ,

Ohmiword, is it another review? Why yes it is! Hey guys, I’ve been busy reading, reading, reading. And cleaning as well. I’m tuckered out and it’s not even Friday yet. The good news is: I’ve got another review all lined up and waiting for you guys to enjoy. Keep reading to get a taste of my review of A Beautiful Dark by Jocelyn Davis.


A Beautiful DarkOn the night of Skye’s seventeenth birthday, she meets two enigmatic strangers. Complete opposites—like fire and ice—Asher is dark and wild, while Devin is fair and aloof. Their sudden appearance sends Skye’s life into a tailspin. She has no idea what they want, or why they seem to follow her every move—only that their presence coincides with a flurry of strange events. Soon she begins to doubt not just the identity of the two boys, but also the truth about her own past.

In the dead of a bitingly cold Colorado winter, Skye finds herself coming to terms with the impossible secret that threatens to shatter her world. Torn between Asher, who she can’t help falling for, and Devin, who she can’t stay away from, the consequences of Skye’s choice will reach further than the three of them could ever imagine.

General Comments

This book has an easy flow to it, and gives off a feeling of something safe and familiar. However, I soon found myself urging the book to get to the action. I was tired of all the little incidents that would happen and the whole air of mystery and I just wanted to get to the good bit. Once I got there, however, the story was very satisfying and the ending was absolutely superb. The minute I finished I needed to know what happened next but unfortunately, I have quite a wait ahead of me.

Critical Review

Author’s Voice/ POV:

This story was written in the first person POV, which is normally my favourite. However, this time it felt a little flat as though it wasn’t suited for the story (which is a little crazy). I honestly felt like I was struggling to get into the book but the story wouldn’t let me, it was actually fighting back. It may have to do with the fact I didn’t connect with the character who was speaking in the beginning, however, I know I was a tad disappointed.

Characters:

Skye felt a little flat to me in the beginning. I couldn’t connect with her and I definitely didn’t sympathise with her. At least in the beginning. As the story progressed we watched as Skye had to choose either her grades, her beloved ski team, and her dreams, or learning about who she was. I definitely began to feel sorry for her as the story progressed but somehow she never managed to win my heart completely.

Asher, to me, was the star of this story. He was the most realistic character and he jumped off the page at me. Normally a hot guy doing the hot-cold dance around the female protagonist would irritate me but this time I was routing for him. I wanted to get past that cocky outer shell and figure out who Asher was inside. Let me tell you, by the end of the book I was Not disappointed.

Devin was a little disappointing to be honest. He is ice to Asher’s fire and hence he’s supposed to be calm, collected, and peaceful, unless he and Asher are having one of their tiffs. But I felt like this tactic backfired. I didn’t get him. His distance irked me. And while he redeemed himself as a character later on in the story, I can’t help but wishing that he had seemed just a little more… likeable in the beginning.

Storyline/ Plot:

A Beautiful Dark has an interesting storyline. It’s an angel story and there are the angels who never rebelled against their leaders and the angels who did. And then there’s a girl who’s somehow connected to them and may have a power that’s too dangerous to leave be. There’s a big romance element playing a part and then there are a few surprises that make you sit on the edge of the sit bouncing up and down because you think you know what’s happening and no one else does and oh it’s so exciting.

Cover & Blurb:

I thought this was a pretty okay cover, not too great but not bad either. It would certainly make an interesting addition to a cute cover collection. The description definitely caught my attention and made me choose to read this book.

Rating Conclusion

Overall, this story gets 3.5 out of 5 stars. My inability to connect with the main protagonist and with the story in general, at least for the first half of the book, pulled this rating down big time for me. However, the second half of this story and the ending were definitely worth the fight and I’m glad I got to read this book.

Have a lovely afternoon,

K, the Popinjay.

Disclaimer: This story was received from the publisher, HarperCollins, via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

