Tags

, , , ,

Today marks the end of my first week back at uni and I’m pleased to announce that I still managed to keep up with my reading. Of course, that may be because there were no tutorials this week and because work’s not busy yet… Anyway, that’s hardly the point. The point is I vowed to keep up with my reading and I have. Today I’d like to share my thoughts on the YA book, Eve by Anna Carey, with all of you. I hope you enjoy.


EveThe year is 2032, sixteen years after a deadly virus—and the vaccine intended to protect against it—wiped out most of the earth’s population. The night before eighteen-year-old Eve’s graduation from her all-girls school she discovers what really happens to new graduates, and the horrifying fate that awaits her.

Fleeing the only home she’s ever known, Eve sets off on a long, treacherous journey, searching for a place she can survive. Along the way she encounters Caleb, a rough, rebellious boy living in the wild. Separated from men her whole life, Eve has been taught to fear them, but Caleb slowly wins her trust…and her heart. He promises to protect her, but when soldiers begin hunting them, Eve must choose between true love and her life.

General Comments

This book was like a breath of fresh air in so many ways. Lately I’ve felt like I’ve been reading several books with less than fantastic beginnings and the same sort of story. But Eve’s beginning pulled me in right away and held me with just the right amount of action. It also felt different, as though there was some unique aspect hidden among the words that made the story so new to me. I especially loved the ending, it had just the right twist to leave me feeling astounded, horrified, and satisfied, all at once.

Critical Review

Author’s POV/ Voice:

This book is written in the first person POV with past tense. Anna Carey manages to capture the voice of her protagonist, Eve, perfectly. The words flow nicely, everything sounds perfectly natural, and I got the feeling that Eve could be my close friend, sitting right beside me, as she told me a story.

Characters:

Eve definitely came across as the girl who could do no wrong but is pushed in the last direction she would have chosen. She’s smart, she’s determined, and she’s focused on following the path that gets her to New America. That is until a midnight journey sends her world spiralling out of control. She is forced to make a decision and in my opinion, makes a wise one. As the story progresses we watch her struggle with everything she’s been taught and everything she experiences. She comes to realise that not everything is black and white and that there are things she cannot explain. She learns to love and she learns how to feel heartbreak.

Arden was an interesting character. Due to her rebellious nature and her unwillingness to accept rules, she discovers the ‘Truth’ of the girls’ futures and escapes. She’s a survivor, cold and capable, and she’s nor about to let anyone bring her down. Somehow, along the line she experiences a change of heart and comes looking for Eve after becoming separated and I’m not completely sure what prompted it. However, as the story progresses Eve gives her reason to stick around and in the end to make a decision that she would never have considered making in the beginning.

Storyline/ Plot:

One of the main ideas in Eve is that the world has been thrown into chaos due to the spread of a plague which killed much of the population. Many orphans were rounded up and sent to schools while a King took control and tried to rebuild one country by starting with the city he called New America. As I read more and more of this story, I came across many familiar elements of dystopian novels but at the same time, nothing felt old or rehashed. Even the romance that blooms felt real to me. All the doubts and fears brought everything to life beautifully.

Cover & Blurb:

Once I started the story I understood the reference made about the bridge and the girl crossing it. However, comprehension did not really bring any appreciation for it. Quite honestly, it’s a tad plain and boring. The description is anything but. It pulled me in with a mere glance and it takes up the slack left behind by the cover.

Rating Conclusion

I’d have to give Eve, 5 out of 5 stars. Honestly, I can’t think of anything that detracted from my reading experience. I only put down the book once and after that I was simply dying to finish it.

So what do you think?

K, the Popinjay.

Disclaimer: This story was received from the publisher, HarperCollins, via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

