Tags

, , , , ,

Good morning! It’s Monday! Not like any of you needed reminding of that. So last week, somehow I managed to actually do some serious reading and for some reason I decided to start a book I’d recently borrowed. So I started and finished this book and I decided that I had to review it. It really inspired so much thought that I decided I just had to share it with you guys. So without further ado, my review of Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick.


Hush HushFor Nora Grey, romance was not part of the plan. She’s never been particularly attracted to the boys at her school, no matter how much her best friend, Vee, pushes them at her…until Patch comes along.

With his easy smile and eyes that seem to see inside her, Nora is drawn to him against her better judgment, but after a series of terrifying encounters, Nora’s not sure whom to trust. Patch seems to be everywhere she is, and to know more about her than her closest friends.

She can’t decide whether she should fall into his arms or run and hide. And when she tries to seek some answers, she finds herself near a truth that is far more unsettling than anything Patch makes her feel.
For Nora is right in the middle of an ancient battle between the immortal and those that have fallen – and when it comes to choosing sides, the wrong choice will cost her life

.

General Comments

Hush, Hush has fallen into that category of books that I like even though I believe I shouldn’t. Despite the fact that I kept stumbling on things that seriously irked me and despite the fact that I’d read a book that felt too similar for comfort, it won me over. There were long drifts of story that were so endearing that they’d pull me in so close and so tight that whenever I reached something I didn’t like, no matter how much I squirmed or wriggled, I couldn’t quite get away.

Critical Review

Author’s POV/ Voice:

The author chose to use the third person POV with past tense and it worked for the story. It flowed even though it did seem a little wordy at times. I felt like it captured each character perfectly.

Characters:

I had mixed feelings about Nora. She doesn’t really change over the course of the story except in the way she falls for Patch. She’s one of the smart girls, overly concerned about her GPA and about school and about her image with her mum, teachers, the world, etc. But she wasn’t flat. Somehow, she managed to worm her way into my heart. Even though she does do several things that make me just want to shake her.

Vee showed some potential in the beginning as the great best friend that every girl needs. However, all that went down the drain as she could only think of boys, boys, boys. So your best friend thinks a guy is a murderer? You’ve known her for at least five years and him for like five minutes and you tell her take a chill pill? Uhm, no. Even if you think your best friend is cuckoo, you leave him be. Jeez. She honestly made me ashamed to be a girl.

Patch was so intriguing. He was so hot all the time with his smouldering eyes and slightly naught innuendo. He was the typical ‘bad boy’ but to me he didn’t ring as a cliché. He really did come off the page for me and I’ll even admit that I’ve got a bit of a crush on him now.

Storyline/ Plot:

Now, as I said earlier, I’ve recently read a story that seemed extremely similar to Hush, Hush. Painfully similar in fact. One thing I have to say is that while I couldn’t stop myself from balking at the similarities and comparing them, I really felt like Hush, Hush did it better. It offers more of a story. There’s not just a budding romance, there’s mystery, and suspense, and a touch of something other that makes it feel like something more than a tale of love, of fallen angels, and of the world. I think that’s a quality that lots of books should aspire to have.

Cover & Blurb:

This cover was simply stunning. It made me stop and stare, it piqued my curiosity, and it was visually pleasing. I really felt like it worked really, really well. The blurb was interesting though it felt like it pushed the romance part a little too much for my liking even if the romance is one of the central features.

Rating Conclusion

In the end, I’d give Hush, Hush 4 out of 5 stars. Why you ask? Because the story pulled me in. I found the budding romance to be engaging and beautiful in its own way. Despite the disappointing nature of Vee, the rest of the story sort of shone, even though it did have more than a few dull patches.

Did you read it? What did you think?

K, the Popinjay.

