Tags

, , , ,

It’s a Monday, and instead of a Morning Muse post you get this! Surprise! I’ve been wanting to read The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson for a good while now. Luckily for me, it’s finally September! Gosh! My September release list is so fricking long, it’s actually got me a little backed up review-wise. Oh well, they’re so good I can’t really complain. So here’s my review of a completely awesome sauce book. Hope you guys like it.


The Girl of Fire and ThornsOnce a century, one person is chosen for greatness.

Elisa is the chosen one.

But she is also the younger of two princesses, the one who has never done anything remarkable. She can’t see how she ever will.

Now, on her sixteenth birthday, she has become the secret wife of a handsome and worldly king—a king whose country is in turmoil. A king who needs the chosen one, not a failure of a princess.

And he’s not the only one who needs her. Savage enemies seething with dark magic are hunting her. A daring, determined revolutionary thinks she could be his people’s savior. And he looks at her in a way that no man has ever looked at her before. Soon it is not just her life, but her very heart that is at stake.

Elisa could be everything to those who need her most. If the prophecy is fulfilled. If she finds the power deep within herself. If she doesn’t die young.

Most of the chosen do.

General Comments

What can I say about this book other than it was brilliant? I hadn’t seen very many reviews for this prior to reading it but what I had heard and read of the description made me want to read this book desperately and I’m so glad I did. This was not a book just written to entertain or to carry the reader to another place for five or so hours. It’s an experience. It’s a journey. It’s a lesson. I came away feeling enlightened and extremely happy.

Critical Review

Author’s POV/ Voice:

This book is written in the first person POV with present tense and for once I am drawn fully into the story and feel it surrounding me and happening all around me. I really felt Elisa coming through in the words and I felt like I knew her almost from the very beginning.

Characters:

I have to devote this entire section to Elisa. She is a gem of a character, even more wondrous than her Godstone. We literally watch her grow and develop over the entire course of the novel in an entirely believable fashion. She is at first the girl with low self-esteem, no interest in court, and a propensity to eat at every opportunity. She is far from perfect, but it’s not done in a way that we just  accept well the author couldn’t make a perfect character. She’s flawed, and insecure, but she tries, and in that we she is so beautifully endearing and real to me.

As the story progresses, she becomes queenly in her own right. Nothing is forced, her growth is perfectly natural especially in light of the events that are taking place around her. And my heart breaks along with hers, and I feel strengthened along with her, and by the end of the book I have no doubt in her abilities to be who she has to be and do what has to be done. She is a perfect role model for girls who are unsure of themselves and of their places in the world. Her story, her growth, her transformation, is inspirational.

Storyline/ Plot:

The story behind this book is pretty interesting. In Elisa’s world, God choses someone to complete a great task. He lets the world know of his choice by gifting His Chosen with a Godstone, a blue gem, embedded in their navels. Elisa is her century’s chosen and we watch as she is caught up in a series of unfolding events because people expect so much of her because of it. She is not perfect,  she does not have the faith in herself that others have in her Godstone. And the resulting story is one not only of adventure but growth.

Cover & Blurb:

The Girl of Fire and Thorns2I’ve actually seen more than one cover for this story. The one shown above is quite pretty even if it is a little much and the one to the left is quite pretty but in my opinion, misleading. There is a third cover for the hardback but I don’t like it in the slightest. The blurb and descriptions have been quite engrossing and made me want to read the book right away.

Rating Conclusion

All in all, The Girl of Fire and Thorns gets a solid five out of five stars from me. There was nothing that I felt was off to me in the story. I must say, it doesn’t flow quickly but the pace suits the story, at least in my opinion. There has to be a lot of build-up and I felt that was handled well.

Do you think you would read this book?

K, the Popinjay.

Disclaimer: This story was received from the publisher, HarperCollins, via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

