Tags

,

TGIFatGReadsGraphicThis is a weekly feature hosted by Ginger from GReads and it’s called TGIF @ GReads! Basically, Ginger uses it to do a short recap on that week’s posts as well as to pose a question to her followers. I’ll be answering that question here as well as doing my own recap of the week’s posts.

This Friday’s Question:

Banned Books: How do you feel about the censorship of the freedom to read? Do you think the education system needs to be more strict on what children are exposed to in books?

I honestly don’t understand this ‘banned books’ thing. Seriously? You ban certain books from schools? In a system which encourages expression, freedom of speech, and all that jazz? I think it’s a shame, that’s what I think. That schools with the resources to stock their libraries with awesome books, would choose not to, would actually decide that hundreds of students didn’t need to be ‘exposed’ to the subject matter.

Sex, drugs, alcohol, abuse, religion, life. These are just some of the topics discussed in some of the books on the banned books lists I’ve seen. It’s somewhat admirable that the school boards are trying to ‘protect’ children from these things but where is the school board when these children go home and it’s not the warm, fuzzy place that everyone wants it to be? How are they supposed to understand, or learn to handle such situations, or learn to relate to people in such situations, if they’re never given a pathway to explore it?

Okay, I have to end my rant there before I get too carried away. What do you guys think?

K, the Popinjay.

Disclaimer: Graphics made by Ginger from GReads.

