Tags

, , ,

Get up, get up, everyone! It’s… Thursday! But I’ve brought you guys a book review! *Insert shock and awe and funny expressions here* Today’s review is of Thin Air by Lynn Seresin and it’s part of a much wider blog tour hosted by Bree over at The Magic Attic. So let’s talk about a book, shall we?


Thin AirAlice Ayre is no ordinary teenager. She took her first name from a statue in Central Park, pulled her last name out of the air (literally), and she’s actually almost a thousand years old. In fact, the only “ordinary” thing about Alice is that she’s in love.

Alice was a sylphid—a winged air spirit—when she spotted Daniel Field camping in the Adirondacks and lost her heart to the handsome NYU student. Intangible to the human senses, her only hope of winning his heart resides in becoming mortal, even though transmutation is forbidden by Paralda, ruler of the air. Risking punishment, however, seems a small price to pay for a chance at true happiness.

Tracking down Daniel in New York City ends up being surprisingly easy. Getting noticed by him for all the right reasons is another story, especially when the human world keeps tossing challenges in Alice’s path. Just when she’s mastered zippers and buttons, she catches herself dropping a sugar packet into her coffee and mistaking a photo of John Lennon for one of Daniel’s relatives.

Her eccentricities raise the occasional eyebrow with Daniel and his friends, but her quirky charm, sweetness, and sincerity win out. Before long, she lands a job, begins a relationship with Daniel, and starts settling into her new life—until her past comes after her.

General Comments

Overall, I thought Thin Air told the cutest story, with an interesting array of characters and a more-than-interesting storyline. However, the first thing that really comes to mind when I think about Thin Air is that O-M-G, I cannot wait to read the next one! I’m pretty big on beginnings but this time I can’t get my mind over the ending as well as an excerpt from the next one. I went bug-eyed and was doing the whole did-she-seriously-end-there?-Oh-no-she-didn’t! But alas she did, and now I have to wait. Why must people taunt me in such a fashion?

Critical Review

Author’s POV/ Voice:

Thin Air is written in the first person POV using the past tense and I personally found it to be beautifully written. We are taken through the story by Alice, first in her sylphid form, that’s an air elemental, and then in her human form. I really loved that I could feel Alice coming through the words from the very starts. Her very language was airy and sweet and I felt like I was in her head, experiencing every thought along with her.

Characters:

Alice Ayre is probably one of the sweetest female protagonists that I have ever seen in YA. Sweet, loving, most definitely too trusting, and extremely naive, a trait that she has due to her time as a sylphid. I immediately liked her, however, after awhile her naïveté began to wear me down a bit. Yes I understood she was still getting used to the human world, but as much as I tried to remember that, I still wanted to shake her a little. At other times I found it hard to connect with her and her and any emotions she had that weren’t her great love for Daniel. I really wanted to feel more of her and I didn’t.

There is a very large cast of diverse characters in this story. We have Daniel, Delilah, all of Daniel’s friends, other transformed elementals, and other human characters. Each was used to further the story, to help Ariel develop as a person, and to help us learn more about Ariel. At times, they felt a bit flat to me. None of them was truly extremely developed but somehow that complemented the general ease of the flow of the story.

Storyline/ Plot:

Now this story was very Little Mermaid-esque. It involved a non-human girl falling in love with a human boy and becoming human to win his love. Then the story took on its own life. We really got to watch Alice as she struggled with being human and the way she had to come to terms with the life she left behind. There were a few lulls in the story but they were always followed by some much needed tension that pulled me back in.

Cover & Blurb:

I really loved the cover here, I thought it was so pretty. And the butterfly reference becomes clear as you read the book but not in a predictable or annoying way. The description really drew me in. An elemental? Really? When was the last time I read a story about one of those and no I am so not counting Water Babies because I was like eleven.

Rating Conclusion

All-in-all, I’d have to give Thin Air 3.5 out of 5 stars. The story had a very easy flow to it and was extremely easy to get into but the fact that Alice started to get on my nerves after awhile was a bit off-putting. Then there was the single sex scene between Daniel and Alice and it made me feel extremely awkward. Not because I’m a prude but because Alice seemed so innocent and child-like to me, I just couldn’t wrap my head around her having sex. Otherwise, this story was extremely enjoyable and very relaxing. I never had to force myself to pick it back up and that’s a big thing for me.


Now remember, if you’re interested in buying Thin Air, it’s available from Barnes and Noble, Amazon and Lulu. And there’s a great giveaway attached to this blog tour. The grand prize is a paperback copy of Thin Air as well as an earring, much like the type Alice would wear. To enter, you guys need to follow all the stops on the blog tour and collect the bold, red letter hidden in the post. Then at the end of the tour, you guys have to fill out THIS FORM and put the letters together for your chance to win. Isn’t it exciting?

Happy Thursday!

K, the Popinjay

