So it’s Day 11 of Nanowrimo and I haven’t written a word since Monday. I know I’m being awful but it’s been a super hectic week. Thankfully, all my assignments have all been handed in so I have way more time to write. I’m hoping to get in tons of writing this weekend, so keep your fingers crossed! Here’s where I’m at so far:

Day 11

So I was checking out Chri’s Nanowrimo Progress on her blog: She Writes, She Dreams and she included a brief description of her story and I’m kind of hankering to do the same. So here goes!

Human men are good for only two things: breeding and eating. In the early days, they could be caught easily by entrancing them with the siren’s song and then dragging them beneath the waves. Now, they’ve gotten smarter. The hunted have become the hunters and the mermaids are dying.

Sara and her brother, Samuel, are the youngest half humans among their people but while Sara is accepted as a mermaid and a Siren, Samuel is looked upon as hardly better than a human, as perfect breeding stock. With their mother dead and gone, Sara is the only one who can protect him but their time is running out. Soon she will have to choose, and her decision could mean death.

So what do you guys think?

K, the Popinjay.

