Tags

, , ,

BOOK BLOGGING, FIGURE-SKATING, AND OTHER HECTIC THINGS by Bree

The Magic Attic ButtonFrankly, I think – no, I need – more than twenty four hours in a day. While school takes up Monday to Friday, I also have varsity field hockey on Monday, Tuesday, and Thursday, and figure skating practice on Wednesday and Friday, with competitions on Sunday. Plus I run my precious little YA book blog, The Magic Attic.

 

So I’m often asked the question: How do I do it? How do I fit studying into my schedule and maintain a perfect GPA, figure-skate, play field hockey, and have time to run a book blog? Really, all it requires is you managing your time. So if I’m waiting for my turn at a figure-skating competition, I could pick up my homework. If I’m finished, maybe a book. At both field hockey and figure-skating, I often listen to audio books, or I voice record my class notes and listen to that while warming up. Little things like that really makes a difference, and it cuts back on the work when I go home.

Also, you have to prioritize. School always takes top priority, so I do my schoolwork first. I have a study hall period, which really helps.If I have time to spare, then I’ll go book blog and/or read. It’s key to not stray off task, only then do things get done really quickly.

And I think a big thing is you, and your feeling about the tasks because you can do anything if you want to do it. If you’re reluctant to do something, chances are that you’re not going to work as hard for it. I want to do these things, and I want to hang out with friends as well.

So with a little determination, prioritizing, and some time management skills, I have to try to do the stuff I have to do (school), but still have time for the fun things (field hockey, figure-skating, book blogging, friends, etc) in the time I’ve got. Because, even though we wish otherwise, we all have sixty seconds in a minute, sixty minutes in an hour, twenty-four hours in a day, seven days in a week, and fifty-two weeks in a year. No more, no less. So you have to make every second count.

