Tags

, , ,

Cinder

CINDER (Lunar Chronicles #1)
Marissa Meyer
Young Adult – Science Fiction
Feiwel & Friends
January 3rd. 2012
E-galley

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl. . . .

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the centre of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

In this thrilling debut young adult novel, the first of a quartet, Marissa Meyer introduces readers to an unforgettable heroine and a masterfully crafted new world that’s enthralling.

General Comments

In a word: instalove. No seriously, Marissa Meyer won me over with the very first line. Not an easy feat, but she made it look effortless. Though I found a few problem areas in the beginning, I was easily able to look past them because the story was so enjoyable. My only other problem is that now I have to wait for the other books in the series. Not fun but trust me, I’ll be first in line to get my hands on copies.

Critical Review

Author’s Voice/ POV:

Cinder is an example of a book written in the third person POV that succeeds at pulling the reader in so that they feel connected to the characters and the world right away. In addition, it is beautifully written and has a quick yet consistent flow to it.

Characters:

Cinder was an interesting main character from the very start. While it took me a while to get to really love her, I admired her strength and her inner determination. Mostly, I felt her frustration at being treated like less for circumstances beyond her control. At times, I wished she would fight back more even though I knew that wasn’t really an option for her but by the very end of the book, I was truly satisfied with the person she had revealed herself to be.

Kai. Prince Kai. A true Prince Charming from the very beginning. I loved him not for his good looks but for his imperfections. His doubts. His loyalty to his people. His willingness to do the right thing. I wasn’t exactly sure at what point he became attracted to Cinder, but I was happy he had and I want to see more of it.

Storyline/ Plot:

Cinder is a retelling of the classic Cinderella fairy tale. It contains a poor orphan girl, who is forced to play servant to her stepmother, a gorgeous prince, and a ball. And there it ends. Cinder is a cyborg, a human who is partially machine. This means she’s technically the property of her family, evil stepmother included. Then there’s the disease affecting the planet and a queen who will stop at nothing to get her hands on the prince and therefore the opportunity to rule the kingdom. Cinder is a story of love and loss, loyalty and manipulation.

Other:

My biggest and only problem with Cinder was with regards to what felt like too much information, too early, and all at once. I understood that the author was trying to set up the world and to explain everything to her readers but I personally felt like it hovered too close to the information overload level. Fortunately, this only lasted for a short period and then the story flowed smoothly. Another point that stood out to me was a major story point that I saw coming from very early into the story. It didn’t ruin the story for me, rather it made me curious as to how the author would handle revealing it.

Rating Conclusion

To conclude, Cinder was a wonderful book, a wonderful read. It flows beautifully and entertains while encouraging readers to really think about prejudice, loyalty, and how far you would go for a loved one. While the infodumps were an unpleasant aspect, they didn’t really affect my enjoyment of the story. This story, in my opinion, deserves 4.5 out of 5 stars.

Happy New Year everyone!

Kris.

Disclaimer: This e-galley was received from the publisher, Feiwel and Friends, in exchange for an honest review.

