Tags

, , , , ,

Crave

Crave (The Clann #1)
Melissa Darnell
Young Adult – Paranormal
HarlequinTEEN
October 25th, 2011
E-galley

 

Savannah Colbert has never known why she’s so hated by the kids of the Clann. Nor can she deny her instinct to get close to Clann golden boy Tristan Coleman. Especially when she recovers from a strange illness and the attraction becomes nearly irresistible. It’s as if he’s a magnet, pulling her gaze, her thoughts, even her dreams. Her family has warned her to have nothing to do with him, or any members of the Clann. But when Tristan is suddenly everywhere she goes, Savannah fears she’s destined to fail.

For years, Tristan has been forbidden to even speak to Savannah Colbert. Then Savannah disappears from school for a week and comes back…different, and suddenly he can’t stay away. Boys seem intoxicated just from looking at her. His own family becomes stricter than ever. And Tristan has to fight his own urge to protect her, to be near her no matter the consequences….

General Comments

I had two reactions when I first read the summary for this book. First, I was extremely intrigued because the summary sounded so interesting. My second reaction was that this was another one of those gooey stories where the main characters are ‘forbidden’ from being together for whatever reason. By the end of the book, I was sure of one thing, well make that two. I knew I liked it, and I liked it a lot, and I also knew I wanted more and I want it now.

Critical Review

Author’s Voice/ POV:

Crave is written in the first person POV, from two perspectives (those of Savannah and Tristan), and I thought it was well done. At times I didn’t realise when perspective switched because I missed the titles, but eventually their voices began to get a little more distinct. The story flows very naturally, mostly because it was so easy to get into the mind of the characters.

Characters:

Savannah had an interesting voice from the very beginning. She was instantly real to me, I could feel her worries, her fears, her pain. I felt how much she wanted to be liked, to be accepted, and to be part of a group. I could really identify with her and that really meant something to me. It helps that she’s not the over-dramatic, immature, whiny type. Her voice feels real, just right, and over the course of the story she matures gracefully.

Tristan was instantly crush-worthy. I thought it was cute how he teased Savannah, I even thought his staring was cute and that’s really saying something. However, as cute as he was, I found him to be somewhat immature. His disregard for the rules, even as Savannah insisted that they were probably for the best felt inconsiderate. His immaturity made it hard for me to keep his age fixed firmly in my head, which was a further source of annoyance.

Storyline/ Plot:

Now the story’s one we’ve seen before: a guy and the girl are super attracted to one another but for some reason or the other they can’t be together. Also, there’s some paranormal element because one of them has some weird thing going on with them that everyone else knew but they were the only ones not in on the secret. You’d think people would get tired of the same stuff but apparently not. However, the author manages to make her characters so engaging and their attraction so believable that I couldn’t stop reading. It also helped that there wasn’t any instalove going on, because you guys know how much I hate instalove.

Other:

One thing that really bothered me was how close the protagonists’ last names were. I know it was useful because seating in classes was according to last name but it took me a chapter or three to get their last names straight in my head. Also, the explanation behind Savannah’s sudden but short illness and her new effect on guys was a little much for me at the beginning. It was truly eyebrow-raising and at first I though I wouldn’t be able to  enjoy the novel because of it. Thankfully, I was wrong.

Rating Conclusion

This story earned 4 out of 5 stars. It was a very familiar kind of storyline but the characters and the good writing really made it enjoyable and different. Best of all, the ending left me wanting more. Like right now.

What do you guys think?

Kris.

Disclaimer: This book was received from the publisher, HarlequinTEEN, in exchange for an honest review.

